Renfrewshire Council

European election 2019

The Regional Returning Officer for the Electoral Region of Scotland has given notice that an election is to be held for six (6) members of the European Parliament.

The poll was held on Thursday 23 May 2019 between 7am and 10pm.

The count took place at the Lagoon Leisure Centre on Sunday 26 May 2019 from 6pm, with local totals announced at 10pm.


Verification results

Total votes cast52,784

Local Renfrewshire totals

Change UK - The Independent Group1090
Conservative and Unionist Party4941
Labour Party 6976
Liberal Democrats 5660
Scottish Green Party3545
Scottish National Party (SNP) 21,870
The Brexit Party 7189
UK Independence Party (UKIP) 991
Independent - Gordon Edgar 245
Independent - Ken Parke85
Ballot papers rejected192
Total votes cast52,784

You can see the full results Scotland - including who was elected as an MEP - on the Elections Scotland website.


The deadline for applications were as follows:

Deadline for:Date
Receiving applications for registrationTuesday 7 May 2019
Receiving new postal vote and postal proxy applications,
and for changes to existing postal or proxy votes
Wednesday 8 May 2019, 5pm
Receiving new applications to vote by proxy (not postal
proxy or emergency proxies)
Wednesday 15 May 2019, 5pm
Emergency proxy applicationsThursday 23 May 2019, 5pm