Renfrewshire Council

Provost Cameron with 2024 award winners

Renfrewshire's Provost rewards inspirational community members

Renfrewshire has honoured local groups and volunteers for their work in the community at the Provost's Community Awards.

Renfrewshire's Provost Lorraine Cameron was joined by comperè Jed McCabe to help celebrate the achievements of devoted community members who go above and beyond to make Renfrewshire a better place to live and work.

The award winners were invited to a special ceremony at the Normandy Hotel in Renfrew after being chosen from outstanding nominations submitted by their peers in the local community.

On the night guests were entertained by young people from Starlight Youth Music Theatre before the award ceremony got underway.

The recipients of this year's awards were:

Arts and Culture (sponsored by Renfrewshire Council) - Caroline Gormley

Community Group (sponsored by City Gate Construction) - Youth Interventions

Community Volunteer (sponsored by Glasgow Airport Ltd) - Ronnie Brown

Employee of the Year (sponsored by UNISON Renfrewshire) - Louise Dempsey

Sports Award (sponsored by Acre Industrial Services Ltd) - Nicole Perry

Provost's Award for Outstanding Achievement - Team Up to Clean Up

Renfrewshire's Provost Lorraine Cameron said: "There's so much fantastic work going on throughout Renfrewshire and the Community Awards are a great opportunity to celebrate those who continue to go above and beyond without looking for reward or recognition.

"The winners were nominated by their own communities and it's an honour to reward them for their dedication and commitment.

"This year it was my honour to introduce a new award - the Provost's Award for Outstanding Achievement. I love reading the nominations that come in every year and wanted to select one winner across all award categories that really stood out. I hope this will become a tradition that future Provost's will also follow.

"Congratulations to all our winners, your hard work does not go unnoticed."

The Provost's Community Awards were first established in 1997 by former Provost Nancy Allison and have been continued by each subsequent Provost, recognising more than 100 deserving community members for their commitment and devotion.

Media release published on 25 March 2024