Renfrewshire Council

Community Empowerment (Scotland) Act 2015

What the Act is, what it does, the parts of the Act, what we are doing in Renfrewshire.

What the Act is

We work with our communities and community planning partners to implement the measures in the Community Empowerment (Scotland) Act 2015.

What it does

This Act creates new rights for community bodies and introduces new duties on public authorities, in order to strengthen the voices of communities in the decisions that matter to them.

The parts of the Act

There are eleven parts of the Community Empowerment (Scotland) Act 2015:

  • Part 1: National Outcomes
  • Part 2: Community Planning
  • Part 3: Participation Requests
  • Part 4: Community Rights To Buy Land
  • Part 5: Asset Transfer
  • Part 6: Delegation of Forestry Commissioners' Functions
  • Part 7: Football Clubs
  • Part 8: Common Good
  • Part 9: Allotments
  • Part 10: Participation In Public Decision-Making
  • Part 11: Non-Domestic Rates

Some parts of the Act are currently in force, others have still to come into force.

What we are doing in Renfrewshire

Find out more about: