Renfrewshire Council

Latest update on the phased opening of schools and nurseries in Renfrewshire

More details

School holidays 2020-2021

On this page

 


First term - August to December 2020

DescriptionDate
In service dayMonday 10 August 2020
In service dayTuesday 11 August 2020
Schools reopen (pupils return)Wednesday 12 August 2020
September weekend (schools closed)Friday 25 September 2020 and Monday 28 September 2020
Schools reopenTuesday 29 September 2020
October holiday (schools closed)Monday 12 October 2020 to Friday 16 October 2020 (inclusive)
In service dayMonday 19 October 2020 
Schools reopenTuesday 20 October 2020
St Andrew's Day (schools closed)Monday 30 November 2020
Schools reopenTuesday 1 December 2020
Last day of the sessionFriday 18 December 2020
Christmas and New Year break (schools closed)Monday 21 December 2020 to Tuesday 5 January 2021 (inclusive)

 


Second term - January to April 2021

There will be a phased reopening of schools and nurseries during January, February and March 2021. We've updated the timetable below to reflect the latest update from Scottish Government, however phase two dates may be subject to further review. 

You can find out more about the Schools and nurseries advice about coronavirus in our Coronavirus section of the website.

DescriptionDate
Schools reopen (staff only)Wednesday 6 January 2021
Schools reopen (key worker children and vulnerable children and young people only)Thursday 7 January 2021
Schools reopen (remote learning begins)Monday 11 January 2021
February mid-term break (schools closed)Monday 8 February 2021 to Tuesday 9 February 2021 (inclusive)
In service dayWednesday 10 February 2021 
Schools reopen (key worker children and vulnerable children and young people only)Thursday 11 February 2021
Schools reopen (P1 to P3, full-time return)Monday 22 February 2021
Schools reopen (S4 to S6, part-time and on limited basis)Monday 22 February 2021
Schools reopen (P4 to P7, full-time return)Monday 15 March 2021
Schools reopen (S1 to S6, part-time and on limited basis)Monday 15 March 2021
Spring holiday (schools closed)Friday 2 April 2021 to Friday 16 April 2021 (inclusive)

 


Third term - April to June 2021

We've moved our May in-service day from Tuesday 4 May to Thursday 6 May. By moving the in-service day to cover election day, it means all pupils who attend schools used as polling stations will have the same number of learning and teaching days as other schools.

We issued a letter to parents explaining the date change.

Exceptional school closures will take place on Tuesday 1 June and Monday 7 June for secondary schools only. This is to support assessments for national qualifications in lieu of exams. 

DescriptionDate
Schools reopen (P1 to P7 pupils return from Easter break)Monday 19 April 2021
Schools reopen (S1 to S6 pupils return full time)Monday 19 April 2021, subject to further Scottish Government review 
May Day (schools closed)Monday 3 May 2021
Schools reopenTuesday 4 May 2021
In service day (schools closed - election day)Thursday 6 May 2021
Schools reopenFriday 7 May 2021
Local holiday (schools closed)Monday 31 May 2021
Schools reopen (primary and ASN)Tuesday 1 June 2021
Exceptional closure (secondary)Tuesday 1 June 2021
Schools reopen (secondary)Wednesday 2 June 2021
Exceptional closure (secondary)Monday 7 June 2021
Schools reopen (secondary)Tuesday 8 June 2021
Last day of sessionFriday 25 June 2021

Teachers return for school year 2021-22 on Thursday 12 August 2021

 


Teacher in service days

  • Monday 10 August 2020
  • Tuesday 11 August 2020
  • Monday 19 October 2020
  • Wednesday 10 February 2021
  • Tuesday 4 May 2021