Renfrewshire Council

2019 - UK General Election

The election for the UK Parliament will take place on Thursday 12 December.

Are you eligible to vote?

You need to be registered to the electoral roll in order to vote in this election. You are not automatically registered to vote because you pay council tax.

The deadline for new registrations was midnight on Tuesday 26 November. If you haven't registered, you will not be able to vote in the 12 December election.

You can register to vote for future elections here - Voter registration

Voting by post

If you're unable to vote in person on polling day, you can apply to vote by post.

The deadline for making changes to or cancelling existing arrangements for the 12 December election was 5pm on Tuesday 26 November 2019.

If you didn't make changes by this date, but you are registered to vote, you will have to vote at your polling station on the day.

You can download an application to vote by post at future elections here - Postal voting.

When will I receive my postal vote?

Ballot papers are being produced and printed.

Your postal voting pack will be sent out from 2 December.

When do I need to return it?

You should ensure it is posted in time to arrive by 10pm on 12 December 2019.

If you haven't posted it in time, you can hand your completed postal vote in to any polling station in Renfrewshire.

With busier post at this time of year, please ensure you return it in sufficient time.

Voting by proxy

To apply for a proxy vote, where someone votes on your behalf at your polling station, the deadline of 5pm on Wednesday 4 December 2019 has now passed.

For future use, you can download an application to vote by proxy here - Voting by proxy

Please note that your proxy would need to attend your allocated polling station to vote on your behalf.

If you appoint a proxy, you are still entitled vote yourself at your polling station, provided that your proxy has not already voted on your behalf or arranged a postal vote.

Emergency proxy

If you find that you are unable to attend your polling station due to work or medical reasons, you may be able to apply to vote by emergency proxy.

For advice on how to apply for an emergency proxy vote, please contact:

The Robertson Centre
16 Glasgow Road
United Kingdom

Email - Renfrewshire Valuation Joint Board
Phone - 0300 300 015

How do I vote on polling day?

If you have not chosen to vote by post or proxy, polling stations will be open from 7am - 10pm on Thursday 12 December 2019.

Details of your polling station can be found on your poll card and you should check where it is located as this may have changed since you last voted.
You do not need your poll card to vote but it saves time at the polling station if you take it with you.

For more information on how to vote, visit: Voting in the UK.

Who is standing for election?

Paisley and Renfrewshire North constituency

Gavin Andrew Stuart Newlands, Scottish National Party

Julie Pirone, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Ross Stalker, Scottish Liberal Democrats

Alison Suzanne Watt Taylor, Scottish Labour Party

Paisley and Renfrewshire South constituency

Mhairi Black, Scottish National Party

Jack William George Clark, Scottish Liberal Democrats

Mark James Dougan, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Moira Ramage, Scottish Labour Party

When will we know the results?

The count will take place at the Lagoon Leisure Centre in Paisley once voting closes at 10pm and the results for each constituency will be announced in the early hours of Friday 13 December.