Renfrewshire Council

Community Empowerment (Scotland) Act 2015

This page provides a summary of the Community Empowerment (Scotland) Act 2015 and links to other information resources

Renfrewshire Council is working with its communities and community planning partners to implement the measures contained in the Community Empowerment (Scotland) Act 2015. This Act creates new rights for community bodies and introduces new duties on public authorities, in order to strengthen the voices of communities in the decisions that matter to them.

There are eleven parts of the Community Empowerment (Scotland) Act 2015.

Part 1: National Outcomes

Part 2: Community Planning

Part 3: Participation Requests

Part 4: Community Rights To Buy Land

Part 5: Asset Transfer

Part 6: Delegation of Forestry Commissioners' Functions

Part 7: Football Clubs

Part 8: Common Good

Part 9: Allotments

Part 10: Participation In Public Decision-Making

Part 11: Non-Domestic Rates

Some parts of the Act are currently in force, others have still to come into force.

For more information on Community Planning, Asset Transfer and Participation requests, please see the related articles section.

Links to the Community Empowerment (Scotland) Act 2015 can be found in the related links section.