Renfrewshire Council

Candidates announced for local by-election

Candidates have been announced for the by-election in the Renfrew South and Gallowhill ward next month.

The by-election will take place on Thursday 11 August following the death of one of three councillors representing the Renfrew South and Gallowhill ward on Renfrewshire Council.

Candidates standing for election are:

  • Mark Dougan - Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party
  • Edward Grady - Scottish Labour Party
  • Jim Paterson - Scottish National Party (SNP)
  • Ross Stalker - Scottish Liberal Democrats

Election officials have also issued a reminder to those living in the area to check that they are registered to vote.

Sandra Black, returning officer for the by-election, said: "I'd urge everyone living in the Renfrew South and Gallowhill ward to check ahead of time that they are listed on the electoral register. The process of registering to vote, or applying for a postal vote, is straightforward and there is plenty of advice and help available."

Anyone wishing to vote in the by-election must be registered before the deadline of Monday 25 July.

Residents can register to vote online at with further advice available from the Electoral Registration Officer on 0300 300 0150.